Posted in travel

HHonors Wifi Blues

I have stayed frequently at four different Hilton-brand locations (Austin TX, Milpitias CA, San Jose CA and Savannah GA). Whenever I try to connect to the HHONORS network on my iPhone 6, ipad mini or ipad with Retina display, no connection can be made. Here’s what happens.

I see the list of available networks (HHonors, ATTWifi, etc.).  I select HHonors and then see a checkmark next to ‘HHonors’ on the Wifi network section in the Settings app, but I never get the WiFi connected icon on the top of my screen (and subsequently cannot load any web pages or use any connected apps).

Googling, I see a number of posts about not being able to load pages after connecting to Wifi. I’ve seen posts about different Safari settings (autofill, etc.)- but those give me no joy. In fact, since I never see the wifi icon, Safari never comes into the scenario.

Calls to the helpdesk include typical advice “close all apps”, “power down the device”, “airport mode”, “Forget Network” and try again. I even tried setting the DNS manually to 4.2.2.1 and 4.2.2.2 (no idea what that is but it showed up in the FlyerTalk.com forums).

Strangely, I do see that the device does receive a local IP address but no connection ever completes. Interestingly my Macbook Pro does not have this issue, so I suspect it is an iOS issue.

I would love to see someone dig in and solve this. I have done the call support desk…tweet @Hilton @EmbassySuites… only one time did someone provide a fix by doing something where tech support was able to see my device on the network and they reset some network thing.

If anyone should stumble across this post and find a solution, please share so we can solve this!!!

 

 

Author:

Business Architect and Technologist GAPS/Primal/Paleo Food and Fitness Woodworker/Handyman Organic Gardener Backyard Chicken Farmer Beekeeper

Leave a comment